Story version history

Create and restore versions of your story for more efficient and confident writing

Mistakes happen, but in Prezly, they're easy to rectify. In this help document, we'll guide you through the process of creating and restoring versions of your story, giving writers more confidence in the story creation process.


Undo and Redo with Ease

Did you know Prezly supports common undo and redo keybindings, just like many other text editors? You can swiftly revert accidental changes or restore content with [Cmd/Ctrl] + [Z] for undo and [Cmd/Ctrl] + [Y] for redo.

Accessing Version History

You can access your story versions effortlessly through two buttons on your editor interface. One is located at the top of the story settings (on the right-hand side of the screen), and the other is at the bottom, within the "advanced settings” section (also on the right-hand side of the screen).

Clicking on either button opens a panel displaying a snapshot of your current story version and all your saved versions in a list. To preview a version, simply click on it.

Creating a new version

Every time you save a story draft by clicking "Save changes" or publish/schedule your stories (including embargoed and confidential stories), a new version of the story is automatically created and saved in the version history list.

Restoring an older version

To restore an older version of your story, access the version history panel, select the version you want to restore, and click "Restore version." After confirming, your story version will be ready for editing in your story editor interface.

Copying a version to a new story

In addition to restoring a version, you can also create a new story based on an older story version. Open your version history panel, click the […] menu next to the version you want to copy, and select "Copy to a new story." You'll see a confirmation modal and land in a newly created story with the content from your selected older version, ready for editing.

Version history timeframes

The timeframe for accessing older versions varies depending on your subscription plan. For example, Starter users can roll back to versions within the past 24 hours. Core users have access to a 7-day version history, while Premium/Agency plans allow restoring story versions up to 90 days old.

Enterprise customers enjoy a full year of version history access.


If you any questions about version history, please feel free to reach out to our support team.

About the author

Hugo FelixHF
Hugo FelixProduct Designer

Join 500+ PR teams already loving Prezly

Take the stress out of contact management and distribution with a dedicated outreach CRM that your whole team can use.

Made with