Why do I get the error "this subdomain is already used by another site"?

Each site URL can only be used once, but there are a few things you can do to resolve this

[browser]

Rarely, you might get the warning "this subdomain is already used by another site" when creating a site. This warning means that someone else has previously created a site with that name and URL.

If you are using the default Prezly domain, you are likely to run into this problem if you are creating a site with a very generic name, e.g. press.prezly.com, or if you are working with a client who has had a Prezly site in the past.

If this is the case, we can check whether that Prezly account and site are still active, and put in a request to transfer the URL to your account. Whether or not this request is approved depends on the original owner of the site.

An alternative solution would be for you to create a site with a different name.

If you are using a custom URL on behalf of a client, it may be that they are already using that subdomain elsewhere. This is outside of our control and you should speak with your client about gaining ownership of that particular URL.

 

Contact us

Live chat

Hands down the fastest way to get support!

Email us

Too busy to chat? Email us & we’ll reply within 24hrs.

Phone call

Available 9:00–17:00 CET, Monday to Friday.

Product demo

Get a personal tour of Prezly when it suits you.